Thursday, April 21, 2016

Styx: Master of Shadows

styx's-tattoo-glows-in-a-poorly-lit-room


Developer: Cyanide Studio
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Genre (Developer listed): Action?
Genre (Reality): Stealth

One Sentence Review:
A shining example of good moments in a low quality game.

Curious about the two genres? Well don't you worry, there's a good reason for it. One is what the developer would like this game to be while the other is what this game actually is. You'll probably notice that they aren't the same. There's a good reason for that too...

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Undertale

Undertale-Asriel-Dreemur-Boss-Fight-Pacifist-Run

Developer: Toby Fox
Release Date: September 15, 2015
Genres: Indie, RPG, Meta

One Sentence Review:
If any game could turn a hardened killer into a sniveling crybaby it would be this game.

Before I begin I just want to say I love this game. There's so much to like and not much to hate, it's definitely a gem of the year 2015 and probably my game of the year overall. I will pick apart bits and pieces of it but do not let that discourage you in the slightest!

Friday, February 26, 2016

Lichdom: Battlemage



Developer: Xaviant
Release Date: August 26, 2014
Genre: Action, RPG, Indie

One Sentence Review:
If you want a game that can teach you how to fuck up a power fantasy, look no further!

This game started with a nice little idea, let's make a mage that isn't some wimp who has to hide behind his big bad warrior friend. As someone who enjoys playing the odd mage to both interesting an hilarious ends, I found this idea more than intriguing enough to buy the game off Steam when it went on sale. Little did I know that the mixed rating on its store page wasn't just for show.

Friday, January 29, 2016

Slime Rancher [Early Access]




Developer: Monomi Park
Release Date: January 14, 2016
Genre: Adventure, Resource Management, Early Access

One Sentence Review:
Treat it as a donation or you're going to end up disappointed.

Before I begin let me say that I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Slime Rancher. It's adorable, the slimes are cute, and there is a little gray tabby slime that likes to steal plants and hop around with them in its mouth without eating them. I want to cuddle each and every slime at least twenty times over. However, the developers are asking $20 for what is currently 8 hours worth of gameplay with almost no replayability and that just doesn't fly with me. I know the game is in early access but so is Factorio and that thing has already consumed more of my life than Slime Rancher and many Triple A games. Early access is not an all purpose shield and this game does not deserve the protection its getting no matter how much I like what's there.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Lucius

Lucius and his family standing on the porch of the manner


Developer: Shiver Games
Release Date: October 26, 2012
Genre: Adventure, Strategy

One Sentence Review:
Bored, bored, walkthrough, bored, bored, walkthrough, bored, bored, bored... oh that's kinda neat.

This game doesn't have a bad concept, an adventure game where you play as the child of Satan certainly is appealing. It is refreshing to be able to tap into magical powers to solve puzzles rather than using them to just kill everyone. It's also refreshing to kill people with puzzles rather than magical powers! If only it didn't have so many problems...